Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik. (Photograph Supply: BCCI)

India will play two warm-up T20 video games on July 1 and July 3, towards Derbyshire and Northamptonshire respectively, and Dinesh Karthik is ready to steer the Indian workforce for the 2 matches. The three-match T20I collection towards England will start on July 7 and the three-match ODI collection will start on July 12.

Karthik has beforehand captained groups comparable to Tamil Nadu within the Indian home circuit, guiding them to 2 straight finals in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and Vijay Hazare Trophy final yr. He additionally captained Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) within the Indian Premier League (IPL) and guided them to a play-off end in 2018. With 15 years and 209 days, he has the third-longest profession in T20Is behind Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo.

Karthik can also be in nice type with the bat, establishing himself as a reliable finisher down the order. After a terrific IPL season with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), he made a comeback to the India workforce for the house T20I collection towards South Africa and the away collection towards Eire.

Karthik scored 330 runs in 16 matches with a median of 55 and a strike charge of 183.33 within the IPL this yr. He performed some helpful cameos within the collection towards South Africa, scoring 92 runs at a median of 46 and a strike charge of 158.62. He’s additionally within the 18-member squad for the primary T20I towards England in Southampton.

Sanju Samson omitted from the squad for the second and third T20Is towards England

Within the India squad for the primary T20I, Rohit Sharma is anticipated to steer the workforce after recovering from sickness. Senior gamers comparable to Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah didn’t make the record however will return for the remaining two matches. Deepak Hooda, after having a profitable outing in Eire has bought the nod for the T20I collection.

Sanju Samson, then again, is within the squad for the primary T20I solely, regardless of scoring 77 runs off 42 balls within the earlier T20I in Dublin. Rahul Tripathi, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer and Arshdeep Singh are additionally among the many gamers who’ve been omitted for the final two T20Is towards England.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here