Rovman Powell
Rovman Powell. (Picture Supply: Twitter)

Dubai Capitals, owned by the GMR group, have introduced the signings of West Indian energy hitter Rovman Powell and the Sri Lankan white-ball skipper Dasun Shanaka for the inaugural version of the UAE Worldwide League T20.

The GMR group, which additionally co-owns the Indian Premier League franchise Delhi Capitals, acquired the companies of Windies all-rounder Fabian Allen, Afghan spin ace Mujeeb Ur Rahman, in-form Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza, Sri Lankan pacer Dushmantha Chameera and his compatriot Bhanuka Rajapaksa, along with Rovman Powell and Dasun Shanaka.

The enterprise group had introduced their involvement within the newly launched UAE-based T20 league earlier this 12 months after their acquisition of the Dubai aspect, which was later named the Dubai Capitals, performing because the sister membership to the Delhi Capitals.

The Dubai-based aspect has to this point introduced seven of their signings, out of which solely Sikandar Raza and Dasun Shanaka are those who haven’t represented an IPL franchise of their profession. Powell (Delhi Capitals), Rajapaksa (Punjab Kings), Fabian Allen (Mumbai Indians), Chameera (Lucknow Tremendous Giants), and Mujeeb (Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2021), have all had their style of IPL motion.

Dubai Capitals be a part of the likes of the MI Emirates, Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, and Gulf Giants in saying signings for ILT20

The tempting cash-rich UAE league is ready to start in January subsequent 12 months and has already acquired multi-year approval from the apex cricketing physique, the ICC. The league will function a complete of 34 matches going down within the lavish cricketing services of Dubai, Sharjah, and Abu Dhabi. Reliance Industries, Kolkata Knight Riders, Capri World, Lancer Capital, and Adani Sportsline are the opposite entities which have acquired groups within the league.

Notably, the opposite sides within the ILT20, the Reliance Industries-owned MI Emirates, Knight Riders group-owned Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, and the Adani Sportsline-owned Gulf Giants have already introduced their squads for the inaugural version of the match, to be performed from January 6 to February 12, 2023.

Dubai Capitals squad: Rovman Powell, Hazratullah Zazai, Daniel Lawrence, George Munsey, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Niroshan Dickwella, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Fabian Allen, Isuru Udana, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dushmantha Chameera, Fred Klaassen, Blessing Muzarabani