England Cricket Group. (Picture by Robert Cianflone/Getty Photographs)

England and South Africa lock horns for a three-match Take a look at sequence, and England have introduced their taking part in XI for the primary Take a look at match, set to happen at Lord’s on August 17, Wednesday. The remaining two Assessments can be performed from August 25 at Outdated Trafford, Manchester, and from September 8 at The Oval, London. 

England final performed a Take a look at in opposition to India within the first week of July at Edgbaston, and Ben Stokes’ facet have made only one change from that recreation as wicketkeeper-batter Ben Foakes, who was out of the staff in opposition to India as a consequence of Covid-19, returns to the taking part in XI to exchange Sam Billings. England have three specialist quick bowlers in James Anderson, Stuart Broad and Matthew, and one frontline spinner in Jack Leach.

This can be solely the third project for England beneath the management of captain Stokes and head coach Brendon McCullum, after the sequence in opposition to New Zealand and the rescheduled fifth Take a look at match in opposition to India. They whitewashed the Kiwis 3-0 within the and drew the sequence 2-2 in opposition to India, and are actually on a successful streak of 4 matches within the format.

England have 5 wins, 4 attracts, and 7 losses in 16 video games within the present World Take a look at Championship (WTC) 2021-23, and stand seventh on the desk. They’re ranked fourth within the ICC Take a look at Rankings, just one spot beneath South Africa. 

In the meantime, South Africa are on high of the desk within the WTC with 5 wins and two losses in seven video games. England misplaced the T20I sequence 2-1 and drew the sequence 1-1 in opposition to the Proteas final month. Dean Elgar’s facet, forward of the primary Take a look at, performed a warmup recreation in opposition to England Lions, which they misplaced by an innings and 56 runs. 

England’s taking part in XI for the primary Take a look at

Zak Crawley, Alex Lees, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, Matthew Potts, James Anderson