Australia players lift their seventh World Cup, Australia vs England, Women's World Cup 2022 final, Christchurch, April 3, 2022 © AFP/Getty Images

Australia won the ICC Women’s World Cup title for the record seventh time after they beat England in the final by 71 runs at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch on Sunday. Australia scored a mammoth 356/ 5 powered by Alyssa Healy’s knock of 171. In reply, England were bowled out for 285 as Natali Sciver’s unbeaten 158 went in vain. 

Australia remained unbeaten on their road to the World Cup final and got the job done in the summit clash as well as the players performed as a team. Healy ended the tournament as the top-run getter with 509 runs from nine innings. Her fellow opener Rachael Haynes ended the campaign with 497 runs from as many games. 

CHRISTCHURCH, NEW ZEALAND - APRIL 03: Alyssa Healy of Australia celebrates her century during the 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Final match between Australia and England at Hagley Oval on April 03, 2022 in Christchurch, New Zealand. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)
(Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

Meanwhile, the ICC released their ‘Most Valuable Team’ of the tournament and none of the Indian players found s spot in the XI. India were knocked out in the group stage after losing to South Africa in their last league game. 

The XI included four players from the victorious Australian side, two from runners up England and one each from West Indies and Bangladesh. Bangladesh off-spinner Salma Khatun had finished with 10 wickets from seven matches at an average of 22.40. England’s Charlie Dean was named the 12th player of the side.

Sophie Ecclestone
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Sophie Ecclestone from England ended the campaign with 21 wickets to her name. South Africa’s Shabnim Ismail took 14 wickets while Australia’s Jess Jonassen and Alana King finished with 13 and 12 wickets respectively. Together they bagged 25 wickets and played a key role in Australia’s victorious World Cup campaign. 

ICC’s Most Valuable Team Of The Tournament 

Most Valuable Team: Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (wk), Rachael Haynes, Beth Mooney (all Australia); Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Shabnim Ismail (all South Africa); Sophie Ecclestone, Nat Sciver (both England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Salma Khatun (Bangladesh)

12th player: Charlie Dean (England)

Also Read: Andrew McDonald Says There Is No Great Detail Or Clarity On Australia Coaching Job

The post ICC Women’s World Cup 2022: No Indian Included In ICC’s Most Valuable Team Of The Tournament appeared first on CricketAddictor.

Cricket Addictor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here