India Women v South Africa Women
India Ladies v South Africa Ladies. (Picture Supply: Twitter)

The Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) have named a 15-member ladies’s squad for the upcoming 2022 Commonwealth Video games in Birmingham. Sneh Rana, who was not part of the current white-ball tour of Sri Lanka, discovered a berth, whereas the selectors have additionally included wicketkeeper-batter Taniya Bhatiya, who final represented India in a T20I within the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia.

Richa Ghosh, Simran Bahadur and Poonam Yadav, who have been all a part of the touring social gathering in opposition to Sri Lanka, have been named as travelling reserves within the squad that might be led by Harmanpreet Kaur, with Smriti Mandhana serving deputy. Whereas Poonam, final in motion throughout the Ladies’s T20 Problem, didn’t characteristic in any sport in Sri Lanka, Simran and Richa performed two and one respectively.

The squad additionally options Harleen Deol and Meghna Singh, who have been part of the ODI crew in Sri Lanka, whereas additionally included are Jemimah Rodrigues and Sabbhineni Meghana. Rodrigues had missed the bus to the Ladies’s World Cup this yr however returned to the facet in Sri Lanka the place the visiting crew received two of the three T20Is to clinch their first sequence win since November 2019 after they drubbed West Indies 5-0.

In a primary, the forthcoming Commonwealth Video games will characteristic ladies’s cricket, with eight members competing in T20I format, as 4 groups – the highest two from every group – will sq. off within the semi-final adopted by the ultimate.

India, slotted in Group A, begin their marketing campaign in opposition to Australia on July 29, adopted by the conflict in opposition to Pakistan on July 31 earlier than the ultimate group-stage fixture in opposition to Barbados on August 3, with all of the video games set to be performed at Edgbaston, Birmingham. Group B includes Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand, and South Africa.

India squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, S. Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

Standby: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav.