Simon Taufel
CHENNAI, INDIA – MARCH 06: Umpire Simon Taufel appears to be like on throughout the 2011 ICC World Cup match between England and South Africa at M. A. Chidambaram Stadium on March 6, 2011, in Chennai, India. (Picture by Matthew Lewis/Getty Photographs)

Among the best umpires that the sport has ever seen, Simon Taufel opined on the uncommon incident which passed off within the last over of the India-Pakistan encounter on Sunday (October 23) within the T20 World Cup 2022. Virat Kohli smashed a waist-high no-ball for a six off Mohammad Nawaz within the last over of the match.

Nevertheless, the right-hander was bowled on the following free-hit however the ball deflected after hitting the stumps and ran away to 3rd which in flip gave sufficient time for Kohli and Dinesh Karthik to choose up three runs.  

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam wasn’t pleased with the umpires signaling byes and there was plenty of confusion among the many followers too. The three runs proved to be essential because it introduced the equation down. With India requiring only one off the final supply R Ashwin scored a single to seal the sport for the Males in Blue. Nevertheless, the useless ball controversy stays a speaking level from the sport and Taufel appears to have put an finish to it. 

The Ball isn’t useless on hitting the stumps: Simon Taufel 

Taufel talked about that he was requested by plenty of followers after the extreme India-Pakistan sport for a proof on the free-hit incident. He instructed that the umpires had been proper in signalling byes and reckoned that it wasn’t a useless ball.

“After the thrilling climax to the India v Pakistan match on the MCG final evening, l’ve been requested by many to elucidate the Byes that India scored after Kohli was bowled off the free hit,” Taufel wrote. 

“The umpire made the correct choice in signalling Byes after the batters ran three following the ball hitting the stumps and rolling right down to third man. For a free hit, the striker can’t be out bowled and due to this fact the ball is NOT useless on hitting the stumps – the ball continues to be in play and all circumstances below the Legal guidelines for Byes are happy,” he added. 

CrickTracker