Afghanistan cricket team
Afghanistan cricket workforce. (Picture by Francois Nel/Getty Photographs)

Afghanistan introduced their 17-member squad for the 2022 Asia Cup on August 16, Tuesday. The fifteenth version of the match is ready to start on August 27 within the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The aspect might be led by all-rounder Mohammad Nabi and there might be just one change from the squad within the ongoing collection towards Eire.

All-rounder Samiullah Shinwari has are available for Sharafuddin Ashraf, who’s now among the many reserves for the competitors. Shinwari final performed a global sport in March 2020 in a T20I towards Eire. 17-year-old left-arm wrist spinner Noor Ahmad has additionally been added to the squad.

Afghanistan’s Chief Selector Noor Malikzai mentioned that the Asia Cup is a vital occasion and that they’ve picked the absolute best workforce for the competitors. He believes that Shinwari is in superb kind and that he can enhance the workforce’s batting division.

Qais Ahmed, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Nijat Masood in Afghanistan’s standby 

“The Asia Cup is a vital occasion for us and, as such, we’ve got picked our greatest accessible gamers for the occasion,” Malikzai was quoted as saying within the ICC web site. “Samiullah Shinwari has been added to the aspect for the Asia Cup. He’s in superb kind and may give additional impetus to the batting division, which already boasts Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, and Mohammad Nabi.”

Qais Ahmed, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Nijat Masood have been stored on standby for the Asia Cup. Afghanistan are in Group B together with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The ultimate of the match might be performed in Dubai on September 7. Afghanistan are presently in Belfast for a five-match T20I collection towards Eire, and the collection is stage on 2-2, going into the fifth T20I on Wednesday. 

Afghanistan squad for Asia Cup: Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Afsar Zazai, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Farid Ahmad Malik, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Noor Ahmad, Samiullah Shinwari, Rashid Khan