Arun Lal
Arun Lal. (Picture Supply: Twitter)

Arun Lal steps down as the pinnacle coach of Bengal after three seasons as a result of “taxing” nature of the position. He felt that he needed to cease earlier than being “kicked out”. He believes that Bengal have been doing effectively and they’re heading in the right direction.

Lal mentioned that, though he would miss being concerned with the staff, he wants to provide himself time. Talking concerning the Indian home circuit, he feels that Bengal are on track to win a trophy. He reckons that the competitors has change into harder, as he highlighted that the finalists of this season didn’t even make it to the semifinals final season.

“It’s a really powerful job. 9 months, 24×7, and nearly seven months on the street,’ Lal was quoted as saying by ESPNCricinfo. “So I assumed it was time to cease, earlier than being kicked out,” the previous Bengal joked. “And Bengal have been doing effectively, they’re heading in the right direction.”

I’ve loved myself completely: Arun Lal

“The competitors has change into a lot harder,” mentioned the previous India opener. “Final 12 months’s winners didn’t qualify for the semi-finals this 12 months. The finalists this 12 months didn’t make the semi-finals final 12 months. Solely Bengal made the knockouts each seasons. So, they’re in an excellent place.”

“It is a unbelievable efficiency by Bengal, and I’ve loved myself completely. And I’ll miss it. It’s very taxing. However I want to provide myself time, and I’ve pursuits exterior cricket too. The one factor we don’t have is a trophy, however I’m positive we’re headed there,” mentioned Lal, who performed 16 Take a look at matches and 13 ODIs for India throughout 1982-89.

The Cricket Affiliation of Bengal (CAB) is but to announce Lal’s successor. At present, former Bengal off-spinner Saurasish Lahiri is the assistant coach and former Bengal all-rounder Joydeep Mukherji is the Director of Cricket. Within the 2021-22 Ranji Trophy season, Bengal, led by Abhimanyu Easwaran, misplaced within the semifinal to Madhya Pradesh, who have been the eventual winners of the competitors.