Binura Fernando
Binura Fernando. (Photograph Supply: Twitter)

The Occasion Technical Committee of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022 has authorized Binura Fernando as a alternative for left arm quick bowler Dilshan Madushanka within the Sri Lanka squad.

Fernando who has performed 9 T20Is, was named as a alternative after Madushanka was dominated out as a consequence of a torn quad muscle. Fernando will journey out from Sri Lanka and be part of the remainder of the squad in Australia.

The alternative of a participant requires the approval of the Occasion Technical Committee earlier than the alternative participant may be formally added to the squad.

The Occasion Technical Committee of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022 consists of Wasim Khan, ICC Normal Supervisor – Cricket (Chair); Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Occasions; Peter Roach, Cricket Australia, Shane Doyle, Males’s T20 World Cup Native Organising Committee; Shaun Pollock (Impartial) and Ian Bishop (Impartial).

Sri Lanka eye for a Tremendous 12 spot

After successful the Asia Cup 2022 earlier this month, Sri Lanka began their marketing campaign within the worldwide match by taking part in Namibia of their marketing campaign opener of the First-Spherical. Whereas the Asian champions had been the highest choose of their group, they misplaced their opening fixture towards Namibia.

Hereon, the Dasun Shanaka-led Sri Lanka must win the remaining two video games towards the Netherlands and UAE in order to maintain their Tremendous 12 hopes alive. Sri Lanka will play the UAE on 18th October which can be adopted by their closing closing group fixture towards the Netherlands on October 20.

Sri Lanka is grouped in Spherical one with Namibia, the Netherlands, and the United Arab Emirates. In single round-robin matches, every crew will play the opposite three groups as soon as and the 2 groups to prime their group within the factors desk will advance to the Tremendous 12.

Sri Lanka’s up to date squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wicketkeeper), Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.

Reserves: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwanido Fernando.