Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Photograph Supply: Twitter/BCCI)

Defending champions of Asia Cup, India lately introduced their squad for the continental match and whereas opener KL Rahul makes his much-anticipated return to the staff, former Pakistani cricketer Danish Kaneria reckons Suryakumar Yadav ought to open the innings together with Rohit Shamra as an alternative of Rahul.

The Asia Cup is simply over a fortnight away because the subcontinent heavyweights gear as much as check their squad in a possible litmus check for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia later this yr. India are prone to go along with the tried and examined opening pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, who will probably be taking part in collectively for the primary time since February.

Former Pakistani spinner Danish Kaneria had a special tackle Rahul’s inclusion within the squad and steered that Indian ought to maintain opening with Suryakumar Yadav, who scored 24, 11, 76, and 24 within the lately concluded Windies collection opening the batting for the staff. Kaneria highlighted Surya’s terrific partnership with skipper Rohit and said that Rahul ought to bat within the middle-order, one thing he has finished beforehand.

“With Rohit Sharma, I would love Suryakumar Yadav to proceed as opener. His consistency with Rohit has been good as opener. KL Rahul is coming again into the staff. I need him to remain down order. He has batted in several conditions, and he has scored runs in all conditions as nicely. So, I need Surya and Rohit to open,” Danish Kaneria mentioned in a video on his YouTube channel.

KL Rahul to steer the Indian staff within the collection in opposition to Zimbabwe

KL Rahul has been designated because the skipper for a much-changed Indian facet for the ODI collection in opposition to Zimbabwe, main as much as the Asia Cup in UAE later this month. Notably, the flamboyant opener was scheduled to return for the Caribbean collection following a prolonged spell on the sidelines, recovering from a sports activities hernia surgical procedure on the NCA in Bangalore, however as a result of a Covid-19 an infection, his much-awaited return to the Indian staff was delayed.

India’s squad for Zimbabwe: KL Rahul (c) Shikhar Dhawan (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.